My Week

OMG! It has been a really , really busy week.For those of you who don’t know me personally, in addition to adoption facilitation I work 10-15 hours a week as a nurse case manager and home school our 17 year old twin boys. We have a 7 yr old who comes home at 2:20 and our oldest son is without a car right now and he goes to college here in town so I am playing taxi for him. I’m lucky to be able to work from home: I cringe when every morning one of my twins will say “are you going to work today?” I have to remember everything I teach during the Fetal Alcohol Workshops I present at and smile and say “yes honey, I am working today”.

September has been busy for Sweet Beginnings Adoptions, We got our facilitators bond and ever since have been receiving emails and phone calls from other adoption professionals looking for families for their birth mothers. We have had 9 this month. This week has been especially busy, we were helping to find a home for a preemie baby coming out of the hospital. We were trying to help his mom with an independent adoption plan instead of having him leave the hospital and go into foster care. There is no need to start your life out in the “system” when given an opportunity a birth mom can choose a family for her child. We went through two families that were very close and for personal reasons decided not to go forward. I was really disappointed but I know in the end GOD has his plan and I am not to judge this. I was able to match another family this week. Rosemary and Mark, they live on a farm and have 4 other children. They are going to have a brother in October. It fills my heart with warmth, It took a while to find the right family and I know this one is. Today I have had two more calls for families. One of them more urgent than the other..I can always count on a Fri baby. This Birth Mom is not due until Nov but she is 3 cms. I hope to be able to find someone who will take good care of her baby, so she knows she made the right decision. The hardest part right now is finding good families..if you know someone who wants to adopt let them know about us. f they really want to adopt we have no waiting lists!

Leave a Reply

